Compare · Complipath vs Govarna · Last checked 27 October 2026 · Govarna’s pages read 26 October 2026
Each Govarna cell is a sentence from their own site, in their words and not ours, with the page it stood on; each Complipath cell is our own page or our status table. Complipath (complipath.io) is EU AI Act compliance software that classifies each AI system with the article behind the answer.
Price. Govarna's own page, read on 26 October 2026, says "$499 /mo"; Complipath Starter at €499 a month or €4,990 a year, with the first system free.
Prices exclude VAT.
Its price, in its own words: $499 /mo
govarna.com. Complipath is €499 a month or €4,990 a year, up to 20 AI systems. Prices exclude VAT.
Complipath costs more than simple AI Act checkers because it also answers your customers' questionnaires with the source of every answer, builds the audit pack and keeps the evidence. Enterprise governance platforms mostly publish no price; the one we could read, Vanta on AWS Marketplace, lists $14,000.00 for 12 months of its Essentials package, against Complipath's €4,990 a year. The three tiers, side by side.
“In short: Govarna is AI governance software for B2B SaaS companies with 50–2,000 employees. It drafts security-questionnaire answers from your own indexed policies with the source cited on each one, classifies each AI system under the EU AI Act, and exports a dated evidence pack for buyers. Self-serve from $499/month.” In their words and not ours.[81]
Prices exclude VAT. Our price is the one on the pricing page.
Counts = requirements met in full. Partly counts as half. “Not stated” counts as zero and is never guessed. Govarna: 30 of 50 stated on the 14 pages we read. Complipath: 47 of 50 answered by our own pages.
Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.
“Maintain an AI system inventory”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. About page 'What Govarna does'; Starter 'Up to 50 AI systems tracked', Growth unlimited.
Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.
Live. A person behind every system and every duty. The status table: what Complipath is.
Partly. A read-only GitHub or GitLab connection finds AI libraries, calls to AI services and AI key names in the repositories you choose and suggests them for the register, where a person adds them; the free readiness review suggests systems from your public web pages. Source.
With limits. Groups your systems by vendor and shows which papers you hold from each, which are missing and which have expired; for the AI vendors it knows it links the public terms and, where known, the data processing agreement; it quotes a sentence on personal data or training where one was found, with its link and the day read; each quoted page is read again once a month, and a sentence no longer on its page stops showing. The status table: what Complipath is.
Live. Answers go through rules in code, never a language model, so the same answers always give the same result. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms. The status table: what Complipath is.
“Govarna classifies each of your AI systems against Article 6 and Annex III with the reasoning recorded, tracks Article 50 transparency duties as per-system obligations, and exports audit-ready evidence packs whenever a buyer, auditor, or counsel asks.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. EU AI Act page intro.
Partly. Article 5(1), points (d), (e), (f), (g) and (h) are decided. Points (a), (b) and (c) turn on judgement and are flagged for legal review instead of being decided. Source.
Yes. A use case that appears in Annex III is high-risk under Article 6(2) unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies. Source.
“Govarna classifies each of your AI systems against Article 6 and Annex III with the reasoning recorded, tracks Article 50 transparency duties as per-system obligations, and exports audit-ready evidence packs whenever a buyer, auditor, or counsel asks.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. EU AI Act page intro.
Yes. If the use case appears in Annex III, Article 6(2) classifies it high-risk unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies, and profiling of natural persons blocks the exemption entirely. Source.
Partly. Which obligations follow from the role you stated is decided. Whether you are the provider or the deployer is asked, never inferred. Source.
“Provider vs deployer role determined per system”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. List under 'GV-02 · EU AI Act'.
With limits. Confirming a classification creates the requirements that follow from it, each with a status, a place for evidence and an owner you fill in: for high risk, the set for the system's role (provider, deployer or both, from its recorded type or confirmed role), and a row for each Article 50 transparency duty. The rows are made at a system's first confirmation; when a later high-risk classification, a role change or a newer catalogue leaves high-risk rows missing, Review proposes them and a person adds them. The status table: what Complipath is.
“Obligation checklist generated from the classification”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. List under 'GV-02 · EU AI Act'.
Live. Each reason behind a verdict names the provision it rests on, so a reader can check it herself. The status table: what Complipath is.
Live. Each obligation carries the date it applies from, derived from where the provision sits rather than written onto the row. The status table: what Complipath is.
Live. Records the measures you take to support AI literacy under Article 4 as amended: who was briefed on what, and when. It applies whatever your risk level. The status table: what Complipath is.
Yes. Article 50 makes some systems tell people they are dealing with AI, and a system can carry that duty and be high-risk at the same time. Source.
“Applicable Article 50 duties become discrete, per-system obligations with an owner, implementation status, and the reasoning for why each applies or does not.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. 'Transparency-obligation tracking'.
Live. Checks the provisions your confirmed records cite against amending acts, and emails everyone in the workspace once per act, naming each system it touches. The status table: what Complipath is.
Growth, opens at launch. Growth, opens at launch: For a provider of a high-risk system: drafts of the EU declaration of conformity (Article 47, Annex V), the EU database registration (Article 49, Annex VIII), the post-market monitoring plan (Article 72), risk management (Article 9) from the risk register and the quality management system (Article 17), each point quoted from the law; a person completes and signs them The status table: what Complipath is.
With limits. Logs what went wrong with an AI system and shows the date a serious incident must be reported by, from Article 73 (the shortest date that could apply while answers are Not sure), who is told under Article 73(1), Article 75(1a) and Article 26(5), and a GDPR 72-hour line where personal data is involved; a person decides whether it is serious, the owner is reminded; each incident also shows an internal first report within 24 hours and a cause report within two weeks, which are not dates from the Regulation. The status table: what Complipath is.
Partly. Complipath does not test models or watch their outputs; a connected Datadog account shows, from your logs, how often each AI service was called and its error rate. Source.
“Not a numeric risk score, model monitoring, or a GRC platform replacement.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. AI risk management landing page; their own words say it is not model monitoring.
Partly. Each obligation has an owner, a status and a date it applies from. When an amending act touches a provision your records cite, you get an email per affected system. Source.
“Slack alerts for questionnaires, approvals & due dates”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Growth plan.
Live. A workspace for the technical documentation, section by section, saying which Annex IV points each one answers. The status table: what Complipath is.
Live. Drafts a documentation section from the facts in your register, and says which limbs it could not answer. The status table: what Complipath is.
“Govarna drafts your AI security questionnaire answers from your real policies and AI system register, classifies every system under the EU AI Act, and exports the audit-ready evidence pack enterprise buyers ask for.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Hero; AI drafting (Anthropic, per 07) is stated for questionnaire answers, not for EU AI Act documents such as technical documentation.
Live. Two features. 'DPIA and FRIA: whether they apply' says for each confirmed system whether a fundamental rights impact assessment is required, likely or not, quoting Article 27(1). 'DPIA and FRIA documents', in the app's words, drafts the FRIA (Article 27(1)) from your register by rules, built on the DPIA, a source on every sentence, for a named person to confirm with a date: a Growth feature, included in Starter until Growth launches, live since 9 October 2026. The status table: what Complipath is.
Growth, opens at launch. Growth, opens at launch: For a provider of a high-risk system: drafts of the EU declaration of conformity (Article 47, Annex V), the EU database registration (Article 49, Annex VIII), the post-market monitoring plan (Article 72), risk management (Article 9) from the risk register and the quality management system (Article 17), each point quoted from the law; a person completes and signs them The status table: what Complipath is.
Live. The whole register as a spreadsheet, as JSON or as a PDF, with the exact law texts it was assessed against. The status table: what Complipath is.
“Export PDF and JSON audit preparation packages”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. About page 'What Govarna does'.
Live. Upload a file once. We read it and use it everywhere it helps: proof for requirements, text for the documentation, and a flag when it disagrees with an earlier answer. The status table: what Complipath is.
“Map evidence to controls”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. About page; evidence is mapped to controls (NIST AI RMF on Growth), linking to each EU AI Act requirement is not stated.
Live. Shows who did what in the workspace, and when, as a list you can read and export. The status table: what Complipath is.
“Full audit log of who approved what, and when”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. List under 'GV-01 · Questionnaires'; pricing lists an 'Append-only audit log' on every plan.
Yes. Confirming a classification stamps it with the person who confirmed it and when; a documentation section is marked reviewed by a named person on a date. Source.
“Generated questionnaire content remains a draft until a user reviews and approves it”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. About page 'Product principles'.
Yes. Each assessment records which version of the legal text it was made against, and which provisions have been amended since. Source.
“Dated, versioned classification report, exportable for counsel”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. List under 'GV-02 · EU AI Act'; the report is dated and versioned, the version of the law applied is not stated.
Live. One file with every classification, citation and confirmation — the one you hand to someone outside your company. The status table: what Complipath is.
“Inventory, classifications, policies, and control mappings compiled into a single dated PDF.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. 'GV-03 · Evidence pack'.
Partly. A read-only connector (MCP) lets Claude, ChatGPT or another assistant that speaks MCP read the register, once an admin signs in to allow it or with a token your workspace creates; either can be revoked. There is no API for writing to it. Source.
Partly. Read-only connections to GitHub, GitLab, Azure and Datadog find AI in your code and read AI use from your logs, on Starter and up; there is no connection to ML platforms. Source.
No. Complipath does not connect to work tools.
“Slack alerts for questionnaires, approvals & due dates”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Growth plan; Slack alerts only; the pricing page says a Google Drive evidence connector is 'on the roadmap but not shipped'.
Not stated publicly.
“SSO/SAML sign-in, custom domains for the Trust Center, and a Google Drive evidence connector are on the roadmap but not shipped, so they are not on this page as selling points.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Pricing 'Not built yet — so not sold yet'.
Yes. Upload the AI inventory template or your own sheet as an Excel (.xlsx) or CSV file of up to 200 rows, check every row in a preview and send what you import to Review. Risk levels in the file are not imported: the rules classify each system.
Yes. Your workspace is stored in Frankfurt: the database in Supabase's eu-central-1 region and the app's functions in Vercel's fra1 region, read on 8 October 2026. Source.
“Global edge; compute in US/EU”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Vercel row of the security page's subprocessor table; Supabase (database, files) is 'Configured project region', Anthropic (AI drafting) 'United States'. EU hosting of customer data is not stated.
Not stated publicly.
“Customer records and uploads use managed database and object-storage services, with provider-managed protection for stored data.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Security page 'Managed transport and storage' ('Govarna is served over HTTPS.'); encryption is not named as such.
No. Complipath is not SOC 2 certified and not ISO 27001 certified. Source.
“Govarna does not claim SOC 2 or ISO certification on this page.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Security page 'Certification status'.
Live. A code from your phone after the email link. The owner can require it for everyone. The status table: what Complipath is.
No. Complipath runs only as the hosted service.
Starter is €499 a month or €4,990 a year. Prices exclude VAT. Pricing.
“$499 /month”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Starter, in US dollars.
Yes. Your first system is free with no end date. The check needs no account. Source.
“Start a workspace trial, or test up to 20 questions against the free tool's generic response library.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. About page; a free tool (also an 'EU AI Act Deployer Check'), no free plan.
No card. Full access for 30 days, then it drops to the free plan — nothing is deleted and your export keeps working. Pricing.
“Every plan starts with a 14-day free trial of the full AI governance platform, no credit card, no sales calls.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Pricing intro.
Starter includes 20 AI systems. Archived systems don’t count toward your limit. Pricing.
“No. All plans include unlimited team members. Pricing is flat per organization, so you can invite your whole security, legal, and engineering team without watching a seat counter.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Pricing FAQ 'Is pricing per seat?'; Starter is capped at 50 AI systems.
Yes. Your first system is free with no end date. You pay for your AI portfolio, not your number of employees. Source.
“For teams up to ~250 employees facing their first AI reviews”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Starter plan.
Yes. The check needs no account, and the trial needs no card. Source.
“No. Every plan is self-serve: start a 14-day free trial, then check out with Stripe from inside the product.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Pricing FAQ 'Do I need a sales call to buy?'.
Not stated publicly.
“The first questionnaire takes an afternoon. The third takes half an hour, because Govarna remembers every approved answer.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. 'GV-00 · Workflow'.
Not required. The check needs no account, and a walkthrough can be booked if you want one. Source.
“If you want a human, email sales@govarna.com, but you never need a call to evaluate or buy Govarna.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Home FAQ 'Do I have to book a demo or talk to sales?'; their own words say no call is needed.
Book 30 minutes and we set up your first AI systems with you. Pricing.
“Email support”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. Starter; Growth priority email, Assured 'Dedicated Slack support channel'.
Growth, opens at launch. Growth, opens at launch: Under Frameworks, beside the EU AI Act: the GDPR duties each AI system brings, quoted from the regulation, with what Complipath prepares and what stays yours, and how far your AI management is from ISO/IEC 42001, with a draft statement of applicability; readiness only, never a certificate The status table: what Complipath is.
“Mapped to NIST AI RMF controls”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 26 October 2026 from govarna.com. List under 'GV-02 · EU AI Act' (NIST AI RMF mapping on Growth and up); the same page says ISO/IEC 42001 is 'not yet mapped in-product, on the roadmap'.
“In short: Govarna is AI governance software for B2B SaaS companies with 50–2,000 employees. It drafts security-questionnaire answers from your own indexed policies with the source cited on each one, classifies each AI system under the EU AI Act, and exports a dated evidence pack for buyers. Self-serve from $499/month.”Govarna, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from govarna.com.
The 14 pages of Govarna's site we read, on 26 October 2026:
It is written by Complipath, so read it as ours. What keeps it checkable is the rule on both sides: each Govarna cell is their own sentence with the page it stood on, and each Complipath cell is what our own pages say. Where a side's pages say nothing, the cell says so.
That none of the 14 pages of Govarna's site we read on 26 October 2026 said it. It is a statement about those pages, listed below, not about the product: ask Govarna before you rule anything out.
Start from the rows you need. Where Govarna's own site states a requirement our pages mark as not supported, they are the closer fit on that row by what each side says publicly. For a European company that wants each classification with its article and the version of the law it used, at a public price, start with Complipath's free check.