Compare · Complipath vs Vanta · Last checked 9 October 2026

Complipath vs Vanta: how do they compare on the EU AI Act?

Each Vanta cell is a sentence from their own site, in their words and not ours, with the page it stood on; each Complipath cell is our own page or our status table. Complipath (complipath.io) is EU AI Act compliance software that classifies each AI system with the article behind the answer.

Choose Complipath if

Rule engine
  • You use AI from other vendors and need each system classified, with the article it rests on.
  • You need the same answer every time. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms.
  • You want proof linked to each duty: the file and the page it stands on.

Choose Vanta if

In their words
  • What they put first is what you need:
    “The EU AI Act applies to any company developing or using AI in the EU. Vanta helps you comply fast with guided workflows, risk-aligned templates, and automated tasks so you can focus on building responsibly.” In their words and not ours.
    [82]
Price fromComplipath€499 a month[65]VantaNot published on the pages we read[66]
What the price is based onComplipathUp to 20 AI systems[70]VantaNot stated
How it classifiesComplipathRule engine[9]Vanta Stated[10]
Free startComplipathFirst system[67]VantaNot stated
HostingComplipath Yes[58]VantaNot stated
Free trialComplipath Yes[68]Vanta Yes[69]

Prices exclude VAT. Our price is the one on the pricing page.

50 requirements, by area

Same list on every comparison page. Open an area to see each line.
AreaComplipathVanta
Inventory4.5/53/5
A register of AI systems Yes[1] Yes[2]
Systems you build and systems you buy Yes[3] Not stated
A named owner per system Yes[4] Yes[5]
Automatic discovery of AI in use Partly[6] Yes[7]
AI used by your suppliers Yes[8] Not stated
Classification and roles4/52/5
EU AI Act risk classification Yes[9] Yes[10]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) Partly[11] Not stated
High-risk check against Annex III Yes[12] Not stated
The Article 6(3) exemption Yes[13] Not stated
Provider or deployer role Partly[14] Yes[15]
Duties, deadlines and follow-up6.5/105.5/10
Obligations listed per system Yes[16] Yes[17]
The article behind each obligation Yes[18] Not stated
Deadlines per obligation Yes[19] Not stated
AI literacy (Article 4) Yes[20] Not stated
Transparency duties (Article 50) Yes[21] Not stated
Monitoring of changes in the law Yes[22] Partly[23]
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) No[24] Yes[25]
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) No[26] Yes[27]
Monitoring of models in operation No[28] Yes[29]
Tasks, reminders and workflows Partly[30] Yes[31]
Documents and evidence8/105/10
Annex IV technical documentation Yes[32] Not stated
AI-assisted drafting of documents Yes[33] Yes[34]
Fundamental rights impact assessment (Article 27) No[35] Not stated
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) No[36] Coming soon[37]
Export (PDF or other formats) Yes[38] Yes[39]
Evidence linked to each requirement Yes[40] Yes[41]
An audit log or audit trail Yes[42] Not stated
Sign-off and approvals Yes[43] Yes[44]
The version of the law each answer used Yes[45] Not stated
Audit-ready reports Yes[46] Yes[47]
Security, hosting and integrations2/106.5/10
An API No[48] Yes[49]
Integrations with ML and engineering tools No[50] Yes[51]
Integrations with work tools No[52] Yes[53]
Single sign-on Not stated publicly[54] Yes[55]
Import from a spreadsheet Not stated publicly[56] Partly[57]
Hosting in the EU Yes[58] Not stated
Encryption Not stated publicly[59] Yes[60]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 No[61] Yes[62]
Two-factor sign-in Yes[63] Not stated
Self-hosted or on-premise option No[64] Not stated
Price and getting started8/105/10
A public price€499 a month[65] Prices exclude VAT. No[66]
A free tier or free tool Yes[67] Not stated
A free trial Yes[68] Yes[69]
What the price is based onUp to 20 AI systems[70] Not stated
A plan for small companies Yes[71] Yes[72]
Sign-up without talking to sales Yes[73] No[74]
A stated time to first result Not stated publicly[75] Not stated
A demo or sales call to start Yes[76] Yes[77]
Onboarding help Yes[78] Yes[79]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) No[80] Yes[81]

Counts = requirements met in full. Partly counts as half. “Not stated” counts as zero and is never guessed. Vanta: 31 of 50 stated on the 20 pages we read. Complipath: 46 of 50 answered by our own pages.

Where Vanta is better

  • Post-market monitoring (Article 72): their site says so[25]. Complipath: no.
  • Serious incident reporting (Article 73): their site says so[27]. Complipath: no.
  • Monitoring of models in operation: their site says so[29]. Complipath: no.
  • An API: their site says so[49]. Complipath: no.
  • Integrations with ML and engineering tools: their site says so[51]. Complipath: no.
  • Integrations with work tools: their site says so[53]. Complipath: no.
  • And 5 more in the areas above.

Where Complipath is better

  • Systems you build and systems you buy: Complipath yes[3]; not stated on the 20 pages of Vanta's site we read.
  • AI used by your suppliers: Complipath yes[8]; not stated on the 20 pages of Vanta's site we read.
  • High-risk check against Annex III: Complipath yes[12]; not stated on the 20 pages of Vanta's site we read.
  • The Article 6(3) exemption: Complipath yes[13]; not stated on the 20 pages of Vanta's site we read.
  • The article behind each obligation: Complipath yes[18]; not stated on the 20 pages of Vanta's site we read.
  • Deadlines per obligation: Complipath yes[19]; not stated on the 20 pages of Vanta's site we read.
  • And 9 more in the areas above.
Sources · 20 pages on Vanta's website, read 9 October 2026Show sources
[1]
A register of AI systems · Complipath

Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.

[2]
A register of AI systems · Vanta
“Inventory AI systems, classify by role and risk, and map to applicable obligations. Vanta’s readiness module and risk engine guide the process and required documentation.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[3]
Systems you build and systems you buy · Complipath

Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.

[4]
A named owner per system · Complipath

Live. A person behind every system and every duty. The status table: what Complipath is.

[5]
A named owner per system · Vanta
“Use pre-built AI risk scenarios, assign owners, link controls, and manage SLAs across systems.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[6]
Automatic discovery of AI in use · Complipath

Partly. The free readiness review suggests AI systems from your public web pages; a system your website does not describe is in it only if you name it. Source.

[7]
Automatic discovery of AI in use · Vanta
“Vanta automatically maps AI agents across developer laptops, production code, and vendor platforms directly to your Trust Graph.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[8]
AI used by your suppliers · Complipath

Live. Groups your systems by vendor and shows which papers you hold from each, which are missing and which have expired. The status table: what Complipath is.

[9]
EU AI Act risk classification · Complipath

Live. Answers go through rules in code, never a language model, so the same answers always give the same result. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms. The status table: what Complipath is.

[10]
EU AI Act risk classification · Vanta
“Classify AI systems by role and risk level using Vanta’s readiness framework, so you scope obligations the right way from the start.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[11]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) · Complipath

Partly. Article 5(1), points (d), (e), (f), (g) and (h) are decided. Points (a), (b) and (c) turn on judgement and are flagged for legal review instead of being decided. Source.

[12]
High-risk check against Annex III · Complipath

Yes. A use case that appears in Annex III is high-risk under Article 6(2) unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies. Source.

[13]
The Article 6(3) exemption · Complipath

Yes. If the use case appears in Annex III, Article 6(2) classifies it high-risk unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies, and profiling of natural persons blocks the exemption entirely. Source.

[14]
Provider or deployer role · Complipath

Partly. Which obligations follow from the role you stated is decided. Whether you are the provider or the deployer is asked, never inferred. Source.

[15]
Provider or deployer role · Vanta
“Classify AI systems by role and risk level using Vanta’s readiness framework, so you scope obligations the right way from the start.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[16]
Obligations listed per system · Complipath

Live. Confirming a classification creates the obligations that follow from it, each with an owner, a status and a place for evidence. The status table: what Complipath is.

[17]
Obligations listed per system · Vanta
“Inventory AI systems, classify by role and risk, and map to applicable obligations.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[18]
The article behind each obligation · Complipath

Live. Each reason behind a verdict names the provision it rests on, so a reader can check it herself. The status table: what Complipath is.

[19]
Deadlines per obligation · Complipath

Live. Each obligation carries the date it applies from, derived from where the provision sits rather than written onto the row. The status table: what Complipath is.

[20]
AI literacy (Article 4) · Complipath

Live. Records who was trained on what and when, against the Article 4 duty to support AI literacy, which applies whatever your risk level. The status table: what Complipath is.

[21]
Transparency duties (Article 50) · Complipath

Yes. Article 50 makes some systems tell people they are dealing with AI, and a system can carry that duty and be high-risk at the same time. Source.

[22]
Monitoring of changes in the law · Complipath

Live. Checks the provisions your confirmed records cite against amending acts, and emails you per affected system. The status table: what Complipath is.

[23]
Monitoring of changes in the law · Vanta
“As regulations change, we update mappings, templates, and controls, alerting you when action is needed.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[24]
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) · Complipath

Not supported. We found no support for this in what we have built. MVP searched 245 shipped source files, 44 migrations, 14 obligation templates, 15 export columns and 12 Annex IV limbs, on the article number and on the provision's own words: nothing on any of the five. The status table: what Complipath is.

[25]
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) · Vanta
“Track model behavior, log incidents, and maintain transparency records to meet the Act’s post-market monitoring and reporting obligations.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[26]
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) · Complipath

Not supported. We found no support for this in what we have built. Same search, same five places: nothing. The status table: what Complipath is.

[27]
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) · Vanta
“Track model behavior, log incidents, and maintain transparency records to meet the Act’s post-market monitoring and reporting obligations.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[28]
Monitoring of models in operation · Complipath

No. Complipath does not monitor AI models while they run.

[29]
Monitoring of models in operation · Vanta
“Track model behavior, log incidents, and maintain transparency records to meet the Act’s post-market monitoring and reporting obligations.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[30]
Tasks, reminders and workflows · Complipath

Partly. Each obligation has an owner, a status and a date it applies from. When an amending act touches a provision your records cite, you get an email per affected system. Source.

[31]
Tasks, reminders and workflows · Vanta
“Vanta helps you comply fast with guided workflows, risk-aligned templates, and automated tasks so you can focus on building responsibly.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[32]
Annex IV technical documentation · Complipath

Live. A workspace for the technical documentation, section by section, saying which Annex IV points each one answers. The status table: what Complipath is.

[33]
AI-assisted drafting of documents · Complipath

Live. Drafts a documentation section from the facts in your register, and says which limbs it could not answer. The status table: what Complipath is.

[34]
AI-assisted drafting of documents · Vanta
“Draft and maintain AI-specific policies with Vanta AI, then launch and track employee acknowledgments with built-in templates and workflows.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[35]
Fundamental rights impact assessment (Article 27) · Complipath

Not supported. The step-by-step plan lists Article 27 as a step only for systems classified under points 5(b) and 5(c) of Annex III. Article 27(1) also binds deployers that are bodies governed by public law or private entities providing public services, and the product does not ask whether you are one. Nothing carries the assessment itself. The status table: what Complipath is.

[36]
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) · Complipath

Not supported. The Annex IV documentation asks for a copy of the declaration and you upload it; the plan says to issue it when the system is ready. The declaration itself is not drafted. The status table: what Complipath is.

[37]
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) · Vanta
“For CE marking details, Vanta can connect you to a specialist.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[38]
Export (PDF or other formats) · Complipath

Live. The whole register as a spreadsheet, as JSON or as a PDF, with the exact law texts it was assessed against. The status table: what Complipath is.

[39]
Export (PDF or other formats) · Vanta
“Yes. Use Vanta to export your gap assessment, AI policies, and risk registers.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[40]
Evidence linked to each requirement · Complipath

Live. Upload a file once. We read it and use it everywhere it helps: proof for requirements, text for the documentation, and a flag when it disagrees with an earlier answer. The status table: what Complipath is.

[41]
Evidence linked to each requirement · Vanta
“Automated evidence collection for audit readiness”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[42]
An audit log or audit trail · Complipath

Live. Shows who did what in the workspace, and when, as a list you can read and export. The status table: what Complipath is.

[43]
Sign-off and approvals · Complipath

Yes. Confirming a classification stamps it with the person who confirmed it and when; a documentation section is marked reviewed by a named person on a date. Source.

[44]
Sign-off and approvals · Vanta
“Multiple policy approvers”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[45]
The version of the law each answer used · Complipath

Yes. Each assessment records which version of the legal text it was made against, and which provisions have been amended since. Source.

[46]
Audit-ready reports · Complipath

Live. One file with every classification, citation and confirmation — the one you hand to someone outside your company. The status table: what Complipath is.

[47]
Audit-ready reports · Vanta
“Basic reporting and audit workflows, code change, and continuous controls monitoring”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[48]
An API · Complipath

No. Complipath has no API for customers.

[49]
An API · Vanta
“Build private integrations for systems that Vanta does not already integrate with, including on-premise or homegrown systems.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[50]
Integrations with ML and engineering tools · Complipath

No. Complipath does not connect to ML or engineering tools.

[51]
Integrations with ML and engineering tools · Vanta
“Yes. Vanta connects to cloud, identity, version control, and GenAI tools like OpenAI to collect configuration and access evidence automatically.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[52]
Integrations with work tools · Complipath

No. Complipath does not connect to work tools.

[53]
Integrations with work tools · Vanta
“Connect Vanta with your cloud infrastructure, version control, productivity tools, identity provider, and much more to give you a complete and automated view of your security and compliance.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[54]
Single sign-on · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[55]
Single sign-on · Vanta
“SSO”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[56]
Import from a spreadsheet · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[57]
Import from a spreadsheet · Vanta
“Imports questions from third-party portals, spreadsheets, DOCX, and PDFs”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[58]
Hosting in the EU · Complipath

Yes. Your workspace is stored in Frankfurt: the database in Supabase's eu-central-1 region and the app's functions in Vercel's fra1 region, read on 8 October 2026. Source.

[59]
Encryption · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[60]
Encryption · Vanta
“All datastores with customer data, in addition to S3 buckets, are encrypted at rest.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[61]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 · Complipath

No. Complipath is not SOC 2 certified and not ISO 27001 certified. Source.

[62]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 · Vanta
“Vanta maintains a SOC 2 Type II attestation and an ISO 27001 compliance certification.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[63]
Two-factor sign-in · Complipath

Live. A code from your phone after the email link. The owner can require it for everyone. The status table: what Complipath is.

[64]
Self-hosted or on-premise option · Complipath

No. Complipath runs only as the hosted service.

[65]
A public price · Complipath

Starter is €499 a month. Prices exclude VAT. Pricing.

[66]
A public price · Vanta
“Request a free demo today to discuss your business needs and get personalized pricing.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[67]
A free tier or free tool · Complipath

Yes. Your first system is free with no end date. The check needs no account. Source.

[68]
A free trial · Complipath

No card. Full access for 30 days, then it drops to the free plan — nothing is deleted and your export keeps working. Pricing.

[69]
A free trial · Vanta
“Yes. Vanta offers a free production-level trial—typically five to seven days—where real work carries over if you become a customer.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[70]
What the price is based on · Complipath

Starter includes 20 AI systems. Archived systems don’t count toward your limit. Pricing.

[71]
A plan for small companies · Complipath

Yes. Your first system is free with no end date. You pay for your AI portfolio, not your number of employees. Source.

[72]
A plan for small companies · Vanta
“Startup-specific pricing is available; request a demo for details on programs tailored to early-stage companies.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[73]
Sign-up without talking to sales · Complipath

Yes. The check needs no account, and the trial needs no card. Source.

[74]
Sign-up without talking to sales · Vanta
“Request a demo to get started”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[75]
A stated time to first result · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[76]
A demo or sales call to start · Complipath

Not required. The check needs no account, and a walkthrough can be booked if you want one. Source.

[77]
A demo or sales call to start · Vanta
“Request a demo to get started”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[78]
Onboarding help · Complipath

Book 30 minutes and we set up your first AI systems with you. Pricing.

[79]
Onboarding help · Vanta
“Vanta’s EU-based team provides working sessions, roadmap planning, templates, and partner referrals, guiding you from scoping to evidence prep.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[80]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) · Complipath

Not supported. The assistant answers questions about ISO/IEC 42001 next to the AI Act. There is no mapping of its controls to the Act, and Complipath certifies nothing. The status table: what Complipath is.

[81]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) · Vanta
“Reuse evidence from ISO 42001, NIST AI RMF, CPS 234, and more to meet EU AI Act requirements faster.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.
[82]
What they put first · Vanta
“The EU AI Act applies to any company developing or using AI in the EU. Vanta helps you comply fast with guided workflows, risk-aligned templates, and automated tasks so you can focus on building responsibly.”Vanta, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from vanta.com.

The 20 pages of Vanta's site we read, on 9 October 2026:

Try both on the same system.Complipath's first system is free. Compare the answer you get with Vanta's.

Questions

Is this comparison neutral?

It is written by Complipath, so read it as ours. What keeps it checkable is the rule on both sides: each Vanta cell is their own sentence with the page it stood on, and each Complipath cell is what our own pages say. Where a side's pages say nothing, the cell says so.

What does "Not stated on the pages we read" mean?

That none of the 20 pages of Vanta's site we read on 9 October 2026 said it. It is a statement about those pages, listed below, not about the product: ask Vanta before you rule anything out.

Which one should we choose?

Start from the rows you need. Where Vanta's own site states a requirement our pages mark as not supported, they are the closer fit on that row by what each side says publicly. For a European company that wants each classification with its article and the version of the law it used, at a public price, start with Complipath's free check.