Compare · Complipath vs FairNow (Optro) · Last checked 9 October 2026

Complipath vs FairNow (Optro): how do they compare on the EU AI Act?

Each FairNow (Optro) cell is a sentence from their own site, in their words and not ours, with the page it stood on; each Complipath cell is our own page or our status table. Complipath (complipath.io) is EU AI Act compliance software that classifies each AI system with the article behind the answer.

Choose Complipath if

Rule engine
  • You use AI from other vendors and need each system classified, with the article it rests on.
  • You need the same answer every time. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms.
  • You want proof linked to each duty: the file and the page it stands on.

Choose FairNow (Optro) if

In their words
  • What they put first is what you need:
    “Optro helps you categorize your AI systems based on the EU AI Act’s risk levels (from Minimal to Prohibited) and tracks the specific obligations required for each.” In their words and not ours.
    [81]
Price fromComplipath€499 a month[67]FairNow (Optro)Not published on the pages we read[68]
What the price is based onComplipathUp to 20 AI systems[71]FairNow (Optro)Not stated
How it classifiesComplipathRule engine[11]FairNow (Optro) Stated[12]
Free startComplipathFirst system[69]FairNow (Optro)Not stated
HostingComplipath Yes[58]FairNow (Optro)Not stated
Free trialComplipath Yes[70]FairNow (Optro)Not stated

Prices exclude VAT. Our price is the one on the pricing page.

50 requirements, by area

Same list on every comparison page. Open an area to see each line.
AreaComplipathFairNow (Optro)
Inventory4.5/54.5/5
A register of AI systems Yes[1] Yes[2]
Systems you build and systems you buy Yes[3] Yes[4]
A named owner per system Yes[5] Yes[6]
Automatic discovery of AI in use Partly[7] Partly[8]
AI used by your suppliers Yes[9] Yes[10]
Classification and roles4/52/5
EU AI Act risk classification Yes[11] Yes[12]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) Partly[13] Yes[14]
High-risk check against Annex III Yes[15] Not stated
The Article 6(3) exemption Yes[16] Not stated
Provider or deployer role Partly[17] Not stated
Duties, deadlines and follow-up6.5/104/10
Obligations listed per system Yes[18] Yes[19]
The article behind each obligation Yes[20] Not stated
Deadlines per obligation Yes[21] Not stated
AI literacy (Article 4) Yes[22] Not stated
Transparency duties (Article 50) Yes[23] Partly[24]
Monitoring of changes in the law Yes[25] Yes[26]
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) No[27] Not stated
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) No[28] Partly[29]
Monitoring of models in operation No[30] Not stated
Tasks, reminders and workflows Partly[31] Yes[32]
Documents and evidence8/105.5/10
Annex IV technical documentation Yes[33] Not stated
AI-assisted drafting of documents Yes[34] Partly[35]
Fundamental rights impact assessment (Article 27) No[36] Not stated
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) No[37] Not stated
Export (PDF or other formats) Yes[38] Yes[39]
Evidence linked to each requirement Yes[40] Yes[41]
An audit log or audit trail Yes[42] Yes[43]
Sign-off and approvals Yes[44] Yes[45]
The version of the law each answer used Yes[46] Not stated
Audit-ready reports Yes[47] Yes[48]
Security, hosting and integrations2/106/10
An API No[49] Yes[50]
Integrations with ML and engineering tools No[51] Not stated
Integrations with work tools No[52] Yes[53]
Single sign-on Not stated publicly[54] Yes[55]
Import from a spreadsheet Not stated publicly[56] Partly[57]
Hosting in the EU Yes[58] Not stated
Encryption Not stated publicly[59] Yes[60]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 No[61] Partly[62]
Two-factor sign-in Yes[63] Yes[64]
Self-hosted or on-premise option No[65] No[66]
Price and getting started8/103/10
A public price€499 a month[67] Prices exclude VAT. No[68]
A free tier or free tool Yes[69] Not stated
A free trial Yes[70] Not stated
What the price is based onUp to 20 AI systems[71] Not stated
A plan for small companies Yes[72] Not stated
Sign-up without talking to sales Yes[73] Not stated
A stated time to first result Not stated publicly[74] Not stated
A demo or sales call to start Yes[75] Yes[76]
Onboarding help Yes[77] Yes[78]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) No[79] Yes[80]

Counts = requirements met in full. Partly counts as half. “Not stated” counts as zero and is never guessed. FairNow (Optro): 30 of 50 stated on the 20 pages we read. Complipath: 46 of 50 answered by our own pages.

Where FairNow (Optro) is better

  • Serious incident reporting (Article 73): their site says so in part[29]. Complipath: no.
  • An API: their site says so[50]. Complipath: no.
  • Integrations with work tools: their site says so[53]. Complipath: no.
  • Single sign-on: their site says so[55]. Complipath: not stated publicly.
  • Import from a spreadsheet: their site says so in part[57]. Complipath: not stated publicly.
  • Encryption: their site says so[60]. Complipath: not stated publicly.
  • And 2 more in the areas above.

Where Complipath is better

  • High-risk check against Annex III: Complipath yes[15]; not stated on the 20 pages of FairNow (Optro)'s site we read.
  • The Article 6(3) exemption: Complipath yes[16]; not stated on the 20 pages of FairNow (Optro)'s site we read.
  • The article behind each obligation: Complipath yes[20]; not stated on the 20 pages of FairNow (Optro)'s site we read.
  • Deadlines per obligation: Complipath yes[21]; not stated on the 20 pages of FairNow (Optro)'s site we read.
  • AI literacy (Article 4): Complipath yes[22]; not stated on the 20 pages of FairNow (Optro)'s site we read.
  • Annex IV technical documentation: Complipath yes[33]; not stated on the 20 pages of FairNow (Optro)'s site we read.
  • And 7 more in the areas above.
Sources · 20 pages on FairNow (Optro)'s website, read 9 October 2026Show sources
[1]
A register of AI systems · Complipath

Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.

[2]
A register of AI systems · FairNow (Optro)
“Build a living inventory of every model, agent, and system - documented from intake through production.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[3]
Systems you build and systems you buy · Complipath

Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.

[4]
Systems you build and systems you buy · FairNow (Optro)
“Centralize every model, agent, and third-party app from initial intake to live production - tracking data dependencies, usage context, and ownership in real time.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[5]
A named owner per system · Complipath

Live. A person behind every system and every duty. The status table: what Complipath is.

[6]
A named owner per system · FairNow (Optro)
“Centralize every model, agent, and third-party app from initial intake to live production - tracking data dependencies, usage context, and ownership in real time.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[7]
Automatic discovery of AI in use · Complipath

Partly. The free readiness review suggests AI systems from your public web pages; a system your website does not describe is in it only if you name it. Source.

[8]
Automatic discovery of AI in use · FairNow (Optro)
“By centralizing AI model and use case workflows, we help you shine a light on unauthorized AI use across your company.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[9]
AI used by your suppliers · Complipath

Live. Groups your systems by vendor and shows which papers you hold from each, which are missing and which have expired. The status table: what Complipath is.

[10]
AI used by your suppliers · FairNow (Optro)
“Yes, Optro supports third-party AI risk management.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[11]
EU AI Act risk classification · Complipath

Live. Answers go through rules in code, never a language model, so the same answers always give the same result. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms. The status table: what Complipath is.

[12]
EU AI Act risk classification · FairNow (Optro)
“Optro helps you categorize your AI systems based on the EU AI Act’s risk levels (from Minimal to Prohibited) and tracks the specific obligations required for each.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[13]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) · Complipath

Partly. Article 5(1), points (d), (e), (f), (g) and (h) are decided. Points (a), (b) and (c) turn on judgement and are flagged for legal review instead of being decided. Source.

[14]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) · FairNow (Optro)
“Optro helps you categorize your AI systems based on the EU AI Act’s risk levels (from Minimal to Prohibited) and tracks the specific obligations required for each.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[15]
High-risk check against Annex III · Complipath

Yes. A use case that appears in Annex III is high-risk under Article 6(2) unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies. Source.

[16]
The Article 6(3) exemption · Complipath

Yes. If the use case appears in Annex III, Article 6(2) classifies it high-risk unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies, and profiling of natural persons blocks the exemption entirely. Source.

[17]
Provider or deployer role · Complipath

Partly. Which obligations follow from the role you stated is decided. Whether you are the provider or the deployer is asked, never inferred. Source.

[18]
Obligations listed per system · Complipath

Live. Confirming a classification creates the obligations that follow from it, each with an owner, a status and a place for evidence. The status table: what Complipath is.

[19]
Obligations listed per system · FairNow (Optro)
“Optro helps you categorize your AI systems based on the EU AI Act’s risk levels (from Minimal to Prohibited) and tracks the specific obligations required for each.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[20]
The article behind each obligation · Complipath

Live. Each reason behind a verdict names the provision it rests on, so a reader can check it herself. The status table: what Complipath is.

[21]
Deadlines per obligation · Complipath

Live. Each obligation carries the date it applies from, derived from where the provision sits rather than written onto the row. The status table: what Complipath is.

[22]
AI literacy (Article 4) · Complipath

Live. Records who was trained on what and when, against the Article 4 duty to support AI literacy, which applies whatever your risk level. The status table: what Complipath is.

[23]
Transparency duties (Article 50) · Complipath

Yes. Article 50 makes some systems tell people they are dealing with AI, and a system can carry that duty and be high-risk at the same time. Source.

[24]
Transparency duties (Article 50) · FairNow (Optro)
“We ensure you have the necessary documentation ready to meet the EU's stringent transparency requirements.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[25]
Monitoring of changes in the law · Complipath

Live. Checks the provisions your confirmed records cite against amending acts, and emails you per affected system. The status table: what Complipath is.

[26]
Monitoring of changes in the law · FairNow (Optro)
“Optro continuously monitors the AI regulatory landscape to deliver tailored guidance for each AI system.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[27]
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) · Complipath

Not supported. We found no support for this in what we have built. MVP searched 245 shipped source files, 44 migrations, 14 obligation templates, 15 export columns and 12 Annex IV limbs, on the article number and on the provision's own words: nothing on any of the five. The status table: what Complipath is.

[28]
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) · Complipath

Not supported. We found no support for this in what we have built. Same search, same five places: nothing. The status table: what Complipath is.

[29]
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) · FairNow (Optro)
“Connect ticketing and project management systems like Jira, ServiceNow, and Azure DevOps to automate ticket creation and track incidents in real time.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[30]
Monitoring of models in operation · Complipath

No. Complipath does not monitor AI models while they run.

[31]
Tasks, reminders and workflows · Complipath

Partly. Each obligation has an owner, a status and a date it applies from. When an amending act touches a provision your records cite, you get an email per affected system. Source.

[32]
Tasks, reminders and workflows · FairNow (Optro)
“Automate workflows and evidence management”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[33]
Annex IV technical documentation · Complipath

Live. A workspace for the technical documentation, section by section, saying which Annex IV points each one answers. The status table: what Complipath is.

[34]
AI-assisted drafting of documents · Complipath

Live. Drafts a documentation section from the facts in your register, and says which limbs it could not answer. The status table: what Complipath is.

[35]
AI-assisted drafting of documents · FairNow (Optro)
“Our AI-powered technology reviews your existing policies and security information to draft suggested answers – so you can quickly review, make edits, and submit with confidence.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[36]
Fundamental rights impact assessment (Article 27) · Complipath

Not supported. The step-by-step plan lists Article 27 as a step only for systems classified under points 5(b) and 5(c) of Annex III. Article 27(1) also binds deployers that are bodies governed by public law or private entities providing public services, and the product does not ask whether you are one. Nothing carries the assessment itself. The status table: what Complipath is.

[37]
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) · Complipath

Not supported. The Annex IV documentation asks for a copy of the declaration and you upload it; the plan says to issue it when the system is ready. The declaration itself is not drafted. The status table: what Complipath is.

[38]
Export (PDF or other formats) · Complipath

Live. The whole register as a spreadsheet, as JSON or as a PDF, with the exact law texts it was assessed against. The status table: what Complipath is.

[39]
Export (PDF or other formats) · FairNow (Optro)
“All data and files in Optro can be exported in common formats such as CSV or json.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[40]
Evidence linked to each requirement · Complipath

Live. Upload a file once. We read it and use it everywhere it helps: proof for requirements, text for the documentation, and a flag when it disagrees with an earlier answer. The status table: what Complipath is.

[41]
Evidence linked to each requirement · FairNow (Optro)
“Link evidence to controls, flag gaps, and cut compliance work from days to hours.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[42]
An audit log or audit trail · Complipath

Live. Shows who did what in the workspace, and when, as a list you can read and export. The status table: what Complipath is.

[43]
An audit log or audit trail · FairNow (Optro)
“Login history and audit logs may be inspected and exported at any time.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[44]
Sign-off and approvals · Complipath

Yes. Confirming a classification stamps it with the person who confirmed it and when; a documentation section is marked reviewed by a named person on a date. Source.

[45]
Sign-off and approvals · FairNow (Optro)
“Streamline intake, reviews, and approvals in one place”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[46]
The version of the law each answer used · Complipath

Yes. Each assessment records which version of the legal text it was made against, and which provisions have been amended since. Source.

[47]
Audit-ready reports · Complipath

Live. One file with every classification, citation and confirmation — the one you hand to someone outside your company. The status table: what Complipath is.

[48]
Audit-ready reports · FairNow (Optro)
“Stay audit-ready with continuously updated regulation and framework details”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[49]
An API · Complipath

No. Complipath has no API for customers.

[50]
An API · FairNow (Optro)
“With secure, industry-standard REST and SCIM APIs, developers can automate actions, manage data, and extend platform capabilities.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[51]
Integrations with ML and engineering tools · Complipath

No. Complipath does not connect to ML or engineering tools.

[52]
Integrations with work tools · Complipath

No. Complipath does not connect to work tools.

[53]
Integrations with work tools · FairNow (Optro)
“Connect ticketing and project management systems like Jira, ServiceNow, and Azure DevOps to automate ticket creation and track incidents in real time.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[54]
Single sign-on · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[55]
Single sign-on · FairNow (Optro)
“Yes. Optro supports both SSO (Single Sign-On) and MFA (Multi-Factor Authentication).”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[56]
Import from a spreadsheet · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[57]
Import from a spreadsheet · FairNow (Optro)
“Microsoft Excel files are the supported format to upload questionnaires.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[58]
Hosting in the EU · Complipath

Yes. Your workspace is stored in Frankfurt: the database in Supabase's eu-central-1 region and the app's functions in Vercel's fra1 region, read on 8 October 2026. Source.

[59]
Encryption · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[60]
Encryption · FairNow (Optro)
“All files, databases, and backups are AES-256 bit encrypted before being written to permanent disk storage.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[61]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 · Complipath

No. Complipath is not SOC 2 certified and not ISO 27001 certified. Source.

[62]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 · FairNow (Optro)
“These programs and our extensive control environment are regularly assessed against frameworks like ISO 27001, NIST 800-53, SOC 2, CSA STAR, HIPAA, and more.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[63]
Two-factor sign-in · Complipath

Live. A code from your phone after the email link. The owner can require it for everyone. The status table: what Complipath is.

[64]
Two-factor sign-in · FairNow (Optro)
“Yes. Optro supports both SSO (Single Sign-On) and MFA (Multi-Factor Authentication).”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[65]
Self-hosted or on-premise option · Complipath

No. Complipath runs only as the hosted service.

[66]
Self-hosted or on-premise option · FairNow (Optro)
“Your teams access it through the browser, without installing or maintaining on-premise infrastructure, and updates roll out in the cloud rather than through manual upgrades.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[67]
A public price · Complipath

Starter is €499 a month. Prices exclude VAT. Pricing.

[68]
A public price · FairNow (Optro)
“Optro aligns pricing plans to your business needs so you can quickly achieve value and easily evolve your program over time.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[69]
A free tier or free tool · Complipath

Yes. Your first system is free with no end date. The check needs no account. Source.

[70]
A free trial · Complipath

No card. Full access for 30 days, then it drops to the free plan — nothing is deleted and your export keeps working. Pricing.

[71]
What the price is based on · Complipath

Starter includes 20 AI systems. Archived systems don’t count toward your limit. Pricing.

[72]
A plan for small companies · Complipath

Yes. Your first system is free with no end date. You pay for your AI portfolio, not your number of employees. Source.

[73]
Sign-up without talking to sales · Complipath

Yes. The check needs no account, and the trial needs no card. Source.

[74]
A stated time to first result · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[75]
A demo or sales call to start · Complipath

Not required. The check needs no account, and a walkthrough can be booked if you want one. Source.

[76]
A demo or sales call to start · FairNow (Optro)
“If you're not a customer, click here to request a demo and learn more about Optro and Optro AI.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[77]
Onboarding help · Complipath

Book 30 minutes and we set up your first AI systems with you. Pricing.

[78]
Onboarding help · FairNow (Optro)
“Implement quickly and accelerate program outcomes with Optro Success and Services.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[79]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) · Complipath

Not supported. The assistant answers questions about ISO/IEC 42001 next to the AI Act. There is no mapping of its controls to the Act, and Complipath certifies nothing. The status table: what Complipath is.

[80]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) · FairNow (Optro)
“25+ frameworks including ISO 42001, EU AI Act, and NIST AI RMF - pre-built and mapped.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.
[81]
What they put first · FairNow (Optro)
“Optro helps you categorize your AI systems based on the EU AI Act’s risk levels (from Minimal to Prohibited) and tracks the specific obligations required for each.”FairNow (Optro), in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from optro.ai.

The 20 pages of FairNow (Optro)'s site we read, on 9 October 2026:

Try both on the same system.Complipath's first system is free. Compare the answer you get with FairNow (Optro)'s.

Questions

Is this comparison neutral?

It is written by Complipath, so read it as ours. What keeps it checkable is the rule on both sides: each FairNow (Optro) cell is their own sentence with the page it stood on, and each Complipath cell is what our own pages say. Where a side's pages say nothing, the cell says so.

What does "Not stated on the pages we read" mean?

That none of the 20 pages of FairNow (Optro)'s site we read on 9 October 2026 said it. It is a statement about those pages, listed below, not about the product: ask FairNow (Optro) before you rule anything out.

Which one should we choose?

Start from the rows you need. Where FairNow (Optro)'s own site states a requirement our pages mark as not supported, they are the closer fit on that row by what each side says publicly. For a European company that wants each classification with its article and the version of the law it used, at a public price, start with Complipath's free check.