Compare · Complipath vs Kertos · Last checked 14 October 2026

Complipath vs Kertos: how do they compare on the EU AI Act?

Each Kertos cell is a sentence from their own site, in their words and not ours, with the page it stood on; each Complipath cell is our own page or our status table. Complipath (complipath.io) is EU AI Act compliance software that classifies each AI system with the article behind the answer.

What you get that Kertos does not state · 31 of 50 · their site was read on 14 October 2026

  • A register of AI systems
  • Systems you build and systems you buy
  • A named owner per system
  • AI used by your suppliers
  • High-risk check against Annex III
  • The Article 6(3) exemption
  • and 25 more in the fifty rows below

What Kertos states that Complipath does not have live · 1 of 50 · their site was read on 14 October 2026

  • Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF)

Price. Not comparable: Kertos's pricing page, which was read on 14 October 2026, states no price (it says prices are tailored to company size and stage, with a demo as the call to action), so we cannot say whether it is cheaper than Complipath Starter at €499 a month. Prices exclude VAT.

Choose Complipath if

Rule engine
  • You use AI from other vendors and need each system classified, with the article it rests on.
  • You need the same answer every time. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms.
  • You want proof linked to each duty: the file and the page it stands on.

Choose Kertos if

In their words
  • What they put first is what you need:
    “Continuous compliance and peace of mind for European companies, with a 100% audit success rate. Automation and certified experts for around 80% less effort across GDPR, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, C5, NIS2, TISAX, SOC 2, and more.” In their words and not ours.
    [54]
  • What they put first is what you need:
    “Compliance services built from the ground up on European frameworks, not retrofitted to them.” In their words and not ours.
    [55]
  • What they put first is what you need:
    “Continuously updated AI-specific risk library, aligned with the EU AI Act & ISO/IEC 23894” In their words and not ours.
    [56]
Price fromComplipath€499 a month[42]KertosNot stated
What the price is based onComplipathUp to 20 AI systems[45]KertosNot stated
How it classifiesComplipathRule engine[6]Kertos Stated[7]
Free startComplipathFirst system[43]KertosNot stated
HostingComplipath Yes[37]KertosNot stated
Free trialComplipath Yes[44]KertosNot stated

Prices exclude VAT. Our price is the one on the pricing page.

50 requirements, by area

Same list on every comparison page. Open an area to see each line.
AreaComplipathKertos
Inventory4.5/50/5
A register of AI systems Yes[1] Not stated
Systems you build and systems you buy Yes[2] Not stated
A named owner per system Yes[3] Not stated
Automatic discovery of AI in use Partly[4] Not stated
AI used by your suppliers Yes[5] Not stated
Classification and roles4/50.5/5
EU AI Act risk classification Yes[6] Partly[7]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) Partly[8] Not stated
High-risk check against Annex III Yes[9] Not stated
The Article 6(3) exemption Yes[10] Not stated
Provider or deployer role Partly[11] Not stated
Duties, deadlines and follow-up7/100/10
Obligations listed per system Partly[12] Not stated
The article behind each obligation Yes[13] Not stated
Deadlines per obligation Yes[14] Not stated
AI literacy (Article 4) Yes[15] Not stated
Transparency duties (Article 50) Yes[16] Not stated
Monitoring of changes in the law Yes[17] Not stated
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) No[18] Not stated
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) Yes[19] Not stated
Monitoring of models in operation No[20] Not stated
Tasks, reminders and workflows Partly[21] Not stated
Documents and evidence9/100/10
Annex IV technical documentation Yes[22] Not stated
AI-assisted drafting of documents Yes[23] Not stated
Fundamental rights impact assessment (Article 27) Yes[24] Not stated
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) No[25] Not stated
Export (PDF or other formats) Yes[26] Not stated
Evidence linked to each requirement Yes[27] Not stated
An audit log or audit trail Yes[28] Not stated
Sign-off and approvals Yes[29] Not stated
The version of the law each answer used Yes[30] Not stated
Audit-ready reports Yes[31] Not stated
Security, hosting and integrations3.5/100/10
An API Partly[32] Not stated
Integrations with ML and engineering tools No[33] Not stated
Integrations with work tools No[34] Not stated
Single sign-on Not stated publicly[35] Not stated
Import from a spreadsheet Yes[36] Not stated
Hosting in the EU Yes[37] Not stated
Encryption Not stated publicly[38] Not stated
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 No[39] Not stated
Two-factor sign-in Yes[40] Not stated
Self-hosted or on-premise option No[41] Not stated
Price and getting started8/102/10
A public price€499 a month[42] Prices exclude VAT. Not stated
A free tier or free tool Yes[43] Not stated
A free trial Yes[44] Not stated
What the price is based onUp to 20 AI systems[45] Not stated
A plan for small companies Yes[46] Yes[47]
Sign-up without talking to sales Yes[48] Not stated
A stated time to first result Not stated publicly[49] Not stated
A demo or sales call to start Yes[50] Not stated
Onboarding help Yes[51] Not stated
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) No[52] Yes[53]

Counts = requirements met in full. Partly counts as half. “Not stated” counts as zero and is never guessed. Kertos: 3 of 50 stated on the 18 pages we read. Complipath: 47 of 50 answered by our own pages.

Where Kertos is better

  • Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF): their site says so[53]. Complipath: no.

Where Complipath is better

  • A register of AI systems: Complipath yes[1]; not stated on the 18 pages of Kertos's site we read.
  • Systems you build and systems you buy: Complipath yes[2]; not stated on the 18 pages of Kertos's site we read.
  • A named owner per system: Complipath yes[3]; not stated on the 18 pages of Kertos's site we read.
  • AI used by your suppliers: Complipath yes[5]; not stated on the 18 pages of Kertos's site we read.
  • High-risk check against Annex III: Complipath yes[9]; not stated on the 18 pages of Kertos's site we read.
  • The Article 6(3) exemption: Complipath yes[10]; not stated on the 18 pages of Kertos's site we read.
  • And 25 more in the areas above.
Sources · 18 pages on Kertos's website, read 9 October 2026Show sources
[1]
A register of AI systems · Complipath

Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.

[2]
Systems you build and systems you buy · Complipath

Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.

[3]
A named owner per system · Complipath

Live. A person behind every system and every duty. The status table: what Complipath is.

[4]
Automatic discovery of AI in use · Complipath

Partly. The free readiness review suggests AI systems from your public web pages; a system your website does not describe is in it only if you name it. Source.

[5]
AI used by your suppliers · Complipath

Live. Groups your systems by vendor and shows which papers you hold from each, which are missing and which have expired. The status table: what Complipath is.

[6]
EU AI Act risk classification · Complipath

Live. Answers go through rules in code, never a language model, so the same answers always give the same result. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms. The status table: what Complipath is.

[7]
EU AI Act risk classification · Kertos
“Contextual risk analysis based on AI deployment, data sources, and intended use”Kertos, in their words and not ours. It was read on 14 October 2026 from kertos.io. AI risk assessment page, a feature bullet; the same page says "Continuously updated AI-specific risk library, aligned with the EU AI Act & ISO/IEC 23894"; whether it is rule-based or AI/LLM-based is not stated ("Proactively detect risks in AI development and deployment with our intelligent platform.").
[8]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) · Complipath

Partly. Article 5(1), points (d), (e), (f), (g) and (h) are decided. Points (a), (b) and (c) turn on judgement and are flagged for legal review instead of being decided. Source.

[9]
High-risk check against Annex III · Complipath

Yes. A use case that appears in Annex III is high-risk under Article 6(2) unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies. Source.

[10]
The Article 6(3) exemption · Complipath

Yes. If the use case appears in Annex III, Article 6(2) classifies it high-risk unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies, and profiling of natural persons blocks the exemption entirely. Source.

[11]
Provider or deployer role · Complipath

Partly. Which obligations follow from the role you stated is decided. Whether you are the provider or the deployer is asked, never inferred. Source.

[12]
Obligations listed per system · Complipath

With limits. Confirming a classification creates the obligations that follow from it, each with a status, a place for evidence and an owner you fill in, and high-risk rows need the system's role recorded. A later, stricter classification adds no new duties unless you change the system's type or role. The status table: what Complipath is.

[13]
The article behind each obligation · Complipath

Live. Each reason behind a verdict names the provision it rests on, so a reader can check it herself. The status table: what Complipath is.

[14]
Deadlines per obligation · Complipath

Live. Each obligation carries the date it applies from, derived from where the provision sits rather than written onto the row. The status table: what Complipath is.

[15]
AI literacy (Article 4) · Complipath

Live. Records the measures you take to support AI literacy under Article 4 as amended: who was briefed on what, and when. It applies whatever your risk level. The status table: what Complipath is.

[16]
Transparency duties (Article 50) · Complipath

Yes. Article 50 makes some systems tell people they are dealing with AI, and a system can carry that duty and be high-risk at the same time. Source.

[17]
Monitoring of changes in the law · Complipath

Live. Checks the provisions your confirmed records cite against amending acts, and emails everyone in the workspace once per act, naming each system it touches. The status table: what Complipath is.

[18]
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) · Complipath

Not supported. We found no support for this in what we have built. MVP searched 245 shipped source files, 44 migrations, 14 obligation templates, 15 export columns and 12 Annex IV limbs, on the article number and on the provision's own words: nothing on any of the five. The status table: what Complipath is.

[19]
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) · Complipath

Live. Serious incidents, in the app's own words: it logs what went wrong with an AI system and shows the date a serious incident must be reported by and who is told, from Articles 73, 26(5) and 75(1a) as written; a person decides, and the owner is reminded. A Growth feature, included in Starter until Growth launches, live since 9 October 2026. The status table: what Complipath is.

[20]
Monitoring of models in operation · Complipath

No. Complipath does not monitor AI models while they run.

[21]
Tasks, reminders and workflows · Complipath

Partly. Each obligation has an owner, a status and a date it applies from. When an amending act touches a provision your records cite, you get an email per affected system. Source.

[22]
Annex IV technical documentation · Complipath

Live. A workspace for the technical documentation, section by section, saying which Annex IV points each one answers. The status table: what Complipath is.

[23]
AI-assisted drafting of documents · Complipath

Live. Drafts a documentation section from the facts in your register, and says which limbs it could not answer. The status table: what Complipath is.

[24]
Fundamental rights impact assessment (Article 27) · Complipath

Live. Two features. 'DPIA and FRIA: whether they apply' says for each confirmed system whether a fundamental rights impact assessment is required, likely or not, quoting Article 27(1). 'DPIA and FRIA documents', in the app's words, drafts the FRIA (Article 27(1)) from your register by rules, built on the DPIA, a source on every sentence, for a named person to confirm with a date: a Growth feature, included in Starter until Growth launches, live since 9 October 2026. The status table: what Complipath is.

[25]
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) · Complipath

Not supported. The Annex IV documentation asks for a copy of the declaration and you upload it; the plan says to issue it when the system is ready. The declaration itself is not drafted. The status table: what Complipath is.

[26]
Export (PDF or other formats) · Complipath

Live. The whole register as a spreadsheet, as JSON or as a PDF, with the exact law texts it was assessed against. The status table: what Complipath is.

[27]
Evidence linked to each requirement · Complipath

Live. Upload a file once. We read it and use it everywhere it helps: proof for requirements, text for the documentation, and a flag when it disagrees with an earlier answer. The status table: what Complipath is.

[28]
An audit log or audit trail · Complipath

Live. Shows who did what in the workspace, and when, as a list you can read and export. The status table: what Complipath is.

[29]
Sign-off and approvals · Complipath

Yes. Confirming a classification stamps it with the person who confirmed it and when; a documentation section is marked reviewed by a named person on a date. Source.

[30]
The version of the law each answer used · Complipath

Yes. Each assessment records which version of the legal text it was made against, and which provisions have been amended since. Source.

[31]
Audit-ready reports · Complipath

Live. One file with every classification, citation and confirmation — the one you hand to someone outside your company. The status table: what Complipath is.

[32]
An API · Complipath

Partly. A read-only connector (MCP) lets your own AI assistant read the register with a token your workspace creates and can revoke. There is no API for writing to it.

[33]
Integrations with ML and engineering tools · Complipath

No. Complipath does not connect to ML or engineering tools.

[34]
Integrations with work tools · Complipath

No. Complipath does not connect to work tools.

[35]
Single sign-on · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[36]
Import from a spreadsheet · Complipath

Yes. Upload the AI inventory template or your own sheet as an Excel (.xlsx) or CSV file of up to 200 rows, check every row in a preview and send what you import to Review. Risk levels in the file are not imported: the rules classify each system.

[37]
Hosting in the EU · Complipath

Yes. Your workspace is stored in Frankfurt: the database in Supabase's eu-central-1 region and the app's functions in Vercel's fra1 region, read on 8 October 2026. Source.

[38]
Encryption · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[39]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 · Complipath

No. Complipath is not SOC 2 certified and not ISO 27001 certified. Source.

[40]
Two-factor sign-in · Complipath

Live. A code from your phone after the email link. The owner can require it for everyone. The status table: what Complipath is.

[41]
Self-hosted or on-premise option · Complipath

No. Complipath runs only as the hosted service.

[42]
A public price · Complipath

Starter is €499 a month. Prices exclude VAT. Pricing.

[43]
A free tier or free tool · Complipath

Yes. Your first system is free with no end date. The check needs no account. Source.

[44]
A free trial · Complipath

No card. Full access for 30 days, then it drops to the free plan — nothing is deleted and your export keeps working. Pricing.

[45]
What the price is based on · Complipath

Starter includes 20 AI systems. Archived systems don’t count toward your limit. Pricing.

[46]
A plan for small companies · Complipath

Yes. Your first system is free with no end date. You pay for your AI portfolio, not your number of employees. Source.

[47]
A plan for small companies · Kertos
“Compliance automation for SME made easy.”Kertos, in their words and not ours. It was read on 14 October 2026 from kertos.io. Home page; also "Compliance that convinces: whether B2C, B2B, startup, scaleup, or SME, Kertos fits companies with growing compliance requirements."
[48]
Sign-up without talking to sales · Complipath

Yes. The check needs no account, and the trial needs no card. Source.

[49]
A stated time to first result · Complipath

Not stated publicly.

[50]
A demo or sales call to start · Complipath

Not required. The check needs no account, and a walkthrough can be booked if you want one. Source.

[51]
Onboarding help · Complipath

Book 30 minutes and we set up your first AI systems with you. Pricing.

[52]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) · Complipath

Not supported. The assistant answers questions about ISO/IEC 42001 next to the AI Act. There is no mapping of its controls to the Act, and Complipath certifies nothing. The status table: what Complipath is.

[53]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) · Kertos
“Continuous compliance and peace of mind for European companies, with a 100% audit success rate. Automation and certified experts for around 80% less effort across GDPR, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, C5, NIS2, TISAX, SOC 2, and more.”Kertos, in their words and not ours. It was read on 14 October 2026 from kertos.io.
[54]
What they put first · Kertos
“Continuous compliance and peace of mind for European companies, with a 100% audit success rate. Automation and certified experts for around 80% less effort across GDPR, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, C5, NIS2, TISAX, SOC 2, and more.”Kertos, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from kertos.io.
[55]
What they put first · Kertos
“Compliance services built from the ground up on European frameworks, not retrofitted to them.”Kertos, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from kertos.io.
[56]
What they put first · Kertos
“Continuously updated AI-specific risk library, aligned with the EU AI Act & ISO/IEC 23894”Kertos, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from kertos.io.

The 18 pages of Kertos's site we read, on 14 October 2026:

Try both on the same system.Complipath's first system is free. Compare the answer you get with Kertos's.

Questions

Is this comparison neutral?

It is written by Complipath, so read it as ours. What keeps it checkable is the rule on both sides: each Kertos cell is their own sentence with the page it stood on, and each Complipath cell is what our own pages say. Where a side's pages say nothing, the cell says so.

What does "Not stated on the pages we read" mean?

That none of the 18 pages of Kertos's site we read on 14 October 2026 said it. It is a statement about those pages, listed below, not about the product: ask Kertos before you rule anything out.

Which one should we choose?

Start from the rows you need. Where Kertos's own site states a requirement our pages mark as not supported, they are the closer fit on that row by what each side says publicly. For a European company that wants each classification with its article and the version of the law it used, at a public price, start with Complipath's free check.