Compare · Complipath vs Botminds · Last checked 8 November 2026

Complipath vs Botminds: how do they compare on the EU AI Act?

Each Botminds cell is a sentence from their own site, in their words and not ours, with the page it stood on; each Complipath cell is our own page or our status table. Complipath (complipath.io) is EU AI Act compliance software that classifies each AI system with the article behind the answer.

Software that does the work for you: we answer your customers' AI questionnaires, audit your AI vendors and set up your Trust Center. A person checks every answer. You keep the system.

Get my risk classes, freeBook a 20-min intro call20 minutes with the founder.

What you get that Botminds does not state · 30 of 50 · their site was read on 8 November 2026

  • A register of AI systems
  • Systems you build and systems you buy
  • A named owner per system
  • Automatic discovery of AI in use
  • The Article 6(3) exemption
  • The article behind each obligation
  • and 24 more in the fifty rows below

What Botminds states that Complipath does not have live · 5 of 50 · their site was read on 8 November 2026

  • AI used by your suppliers (Complipath: with limits)
  • Prohibited practices (Article 5) (Complipath: with limits)
  • Single sign-on (Complipath: with limits)
  • ISO 27001 or SOC 2
  • Self-hosted or on-premise option

Choose Complipath if

Rule engine
  • You use AI from other vendors and need each system classified, with the article it rests on.
  • You need the same answer every time. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms.
  • You want proof linked to each duty: the file and the page it stands on.

Choose Botminds if

In their words
  • What they put first is what you need:
    “AI vendor risk assessment that checks what the vendor said against what its own documents say, before you sign” In their words and not ours.
    [64]
  • What they put first is what you need:
    “Your people make the decisions. Agents read, check and draft; a qualified person reviews and signs every decision that matters.” In their words and not ours.
    [65]
Price fromComplipath€499 a month or €4,990 a year[52]BotmindsNot published on the pages we read
What the price is based onComplipathUp to 20 AI systems[55]BotmindsNot stated
How it classifiesComplipathRule engine[7]Botminds Stated[8]
Free startComplipathFirst system[53]BotmindsNot stated
HostingComplipath Yes[45]BotmindsNot stated
Free trialComplipath Yes[54]BotmindsNot stated

Prices exclude VAT. Our price is the one on the pricing page.

50 requirements, by area

Same list on every comparison page. Open an area to see each line.
AreaComplipathBotminds
Inventory4.5/51/5
A register of AI systems Yes[1] Not stated
Systems you build and systems you buy Yes[2] Not stated
A named owner per system Yes[3] Not stated
Automatic discovery of AI in use Yes[4] Not stated
AI used by your suppliers Partly[5] Yes[6]
Classification and roles4/53/5
EU AI Act risk classification Yes[7] Yes[8]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) Partly[9] Yes[10]
High-risk check against Annex III Yes[11] Yes[12]
The Article 6(3) exemption Yes[13] Not stated
Provider or deployer role Partly[14] Not stated
Duties, deadlines and follow-up8.5/100/10
Obligations listed per system Partly[15] Not stated
The article behind each obligation Yes[16] Not stated
Deadlines per obligation Yes[17] Not stated
AI literacy (Article 4) Yes[18] Not stated
Transparency duties (Article 50) Yes[19] Not stated
Monitoring of changes in the law Yes[20] Not stated
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) Yes[21] Not stated
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) Partly[22] Not stated
Monitoring of models in operation Partly[23] Not stated
Tasks, reminders and workflows Yes[24] Not stated
Documents and evidence10/103.5/10
Annex IV technical documentation Yes[25] Yes[26]
AI-assisted drafting of documents Yes[27] Not stated
Fundamental rights impact assessment (Article 27) Yes[28] Not stated
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) Yes[29] Partly[30]
Export (PDF or other formats) Yes[31] Not stated
Evidence linked to each requirement Yes[32] Not stated
An audit log or audit trail Yes[33] Yes[34]
Sign-off and approvals Yes[35] Yes[36]
The version of the law each answer used Yes[37] Not stated
Audit-ready reports Yes[38] Not stated
Security, hosting and integrations6/103/10
An API Partly[39] Not stated
Integrations with ML and engineering tools Partly[40] Not stated
Integrations with work tools Partly[41] Not stated
Single sign-on Partly[42] Yes[43]
Import from a spreadsheet Yes[44] Not stated
Hosting in the EU Yes[45] Not stated
Encryption Yes[46] Not stated
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 No[47] Yes[48]
Two-factor sign-in Yes[49] Not stated
Self-hosted or on-premise option No[50] Yes[51]
Price and getting started10/101.5/10
A public price€499 a month or €4,990 a year[52] Prices exclude VAT. Not stated
A free tier or free tool Yes[53] Not stated
A free trial Yes[54] Not stated
What the price is based onUp to 20 AI systems[55] Not stated
A plan for small companies Yes[56] Not stated
Sign-up without talking to sales Yes[57] Not stated
A stated time to first result Yes[58] Not stated
A demo or sales call to start Yes[59] Partly[60]
Onboarding help Yes[61] Yes[62]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) Yes[63] Not stated

Counts = requirements met in full. Partly counts as half. “Not stated” counts as zero and is never guessed. Botminds: 13 of 50 stated on the 14 pages we read. Complipath: 50 of 50 answered by our own pages.

Where Botminds is better

  • ISO 27001 or SOC 2: their site says so[48]. Complipath: no.
  • Self-hosted or on-premise option: their site says so[51]. Complipath: no.

Where Complipath is better

  • A register of AI systems: Complipath yes[1]; not stated on the 14 pages of Botminds's site we read.
  • Systems you build and systems you buy: Complipath yes[2]; not stated on the 14 pages of Botminds's site we read.
  • A named owner per system: Complipath yes[3]; not stated on the 14 pages of Botminds's site we read.
  • Automatic discovery of AI in use: Complipath yes[4]; not stated on the 14 pages of Botminds's site we read.
  • The Article 6(3) exemption: Complipath yes[13]; not stated on the 14 pages of Botminds's site we read.
  • The article behind each obligation: Complipath yes[16]; not stated on the 14 pages of Botminds's site we read.
  • And 24 more in the areas above.
Sources · 14 pages on Botminds's website, read 9 October 2026Show sources
[1]
A register of AI systems · Complipath

Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.

[2]
Systems you build and systems you buy · Complipath

Live. Every AI system you build or use, with its owner and risk class. The status table: what Complipath is.

[3]
A named owner per system · Complipath

Live. A person behind every system and every duty. The status table: what Complipath is.

[4]
Automatic discovery of AI in use · Complipath

Yes. Read-only connections to GitHub, GitLab, Azure, Datadog and the Claude or OpenAI API find AI in your code, services and logs and suggest it for the register, where a person adds it; an app list exported from Google Admin or Microsoft Entra can be uploaded, and the free readiness review suggests systems from your public web pages. The GitHub App that updates on every push is built and not yet switched on. Source.

[5]
AI used by your suppliers · Complipath

With limits. Groups your systems by vendor and shows which papers you hold from each, which are missing and which have expired; for the AI vendors it knows it links the public terms and, where known, the data processing agreement; it quotes a sentence on personal data or training where one was found, with its link and the day read; each quoted page is read again once a month, and a sentence no longer on its page stops showing. The limit, in the app's own words: "Public terms are quoted for known vendors only, read again monthly; any other vendor is marked Unverified". The status table: what Complipath is.

[6]
AI used by your suppliers · Botminds
“AI vendor risk assessment that checks what the vendor said against what its own documents say, before you sign”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[7]
EU AI Act risk classification · Complipath

Live. Answers go through rules in code, never a language model, so the same answers always give the same result. Rules decide. AI only drafts. A person confirms. The status table: what Complipath is.

[8]
EU AI Act risk classification · Botminds
“Seven agents classify each system against Article 5, Article 6 and Annex III, write each Annex IV section only from cited passages in your own documents, keep the Article 9 risk file, question the file as an authority would and prepare the declaration and registration record.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[9]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) · Complipath

Partly. Article 5(1), points (d), (e), (f), (g) and (h) are decided. Points (a), (b) and (c) turn on judgement and are flagged for legal review instead of being decided. Source.

[10]
Prohibited practices (Article 5) · Botminds
“Seven agents classify each system against Article 5, Article 6 and Annex III, write each Annex IV section only from cited passages in your own documents, keep the Article 9 risk file, question the file as an authority would and prepare the declaration and registration record.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[11]
High-risk check against Annex III · Complipath

Yes. A use case that appears in Annex III is high-risk under Article 6(2) unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies. Source.

[12]
High-risk check against Annex III · Botminds
“Seven agents classify each system against Article 5, Article 6 and Annex III, write each Annex IV section only from cited passages in your own documents, keep the Article 9 risk file, question the file as an authority would and prepare the declaration and registration record.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[13]
The Article 6(3) exemption · Complipath

Yes. If the use case appears in Annex III, Article 6(2) classifies it high-risk unless the Article 6(3) exemption applies, and profiling of natural persons blocks the exemption entirely. Source.

[14]
Provider or deployer role · Complipath

Partly. Which obligations follow from the role you stated is decided. Whether you are the provider or the deployer is asked, never inferred. Source.

[15]
Obligations listed per system · Complipath

With limits. Confirming a classification creates the requirements that follow from it, each with a status, a place for evidence and an owner you fill in: for high risk, the set for the system's role (provider, deployer or both, from its recorded type or confirmed role), and a row for each Article 50 transparency duty. The rows are made at a system's first confirmation; when a later high-risk classification, a role change or a newer catalogue leaves high-risk rows missing, Review proposes them and a person adds them. The limit, in the app's own words: "Rows appear once a person confirms the classification, and a person marks each one done, never the app". The status table: what Complipath is.

[16]
The article behind each obligation · Complipath

Live. Each reason behind a verdict names the provision it rests on, so a reader can check it herself. The status table: what Complipath is.

[17]
Deadlines per obligation · Complipath

Live. Each obligation carries the date it applies from, derived from where the provision sits rather than written onto the row. The status table: what Complipath is.

[18]
AI literacy (Article 4) · Complipath

Live. Records the measures you take to support AI literacy under Article 4 as amended: who was briefed on what, and when. It applies whatever your risk level. The status table: what Complipath is.

[19]
Transparency duties (Article 50) · Complipath

Yes. Article 50 makes some systems tell people they are dealing with AI, and a system can carry that duty and be high-risk at the same time. Source.

[20]
Monitoring of changes in the law · Complipath

Live. Checks the provisions your confirmed records cite against amending acts, and emails everyone in the workspace once per act, naming each system it touches. The status table: what Complipath is.

[21]
Post-market monitoring (Article 72) · Complipath

Live. For a provider of a high-risk system: drafts of the EU declaration of conformity (Article 47, Annex V), the EU database registration (Article 49, Annex VIII), the post-market monitoring plan (Article 72), risk management (Article 9) from the risk register and the quality management system (Article 17), each point quoted from the law; a person completes and signs them The status table: what Complipath is.

[22]
Serious incident reporting (Article 73) · Complipath

With limits. Logs what went wrong with an AI system and shows the date a serious incident must be reported by, from Article 73 (the shortest date that could apply while answers are Not sure), who is told under Article 73(1), Article 75(1a) and Article 26(5), and a GDPR 72-hour line where personal data is involved; a person decides whether it is serious, the owner is reminded; each incident also shows an internal first report within 24 hours and a cause report within two weeks, which are not dates from the Regulation. The limit, in the app's own words: "Shows the reporting deadline and who must be told; it never reports to an authority for you". The status table: what Complipath is.

[23]
Monitoring of models in operation · Complipath

Partly. Complipath does not test models or score their outputs. On Growth, Live checks your code and logs every hour and after each push and names what breaks the AI Act or GDPR, such as personal data sent to a model or a chatbot with no AI notice; a connected Datadog account shows how often each AI service was called and its error rate, and the Claude or OpenAI API shows the models used in the last 30 days. Source.

[24]
Tasks, reminders and workflows · Complipath

Yes. Each obligation has an owner, a status and a date it applies from; the step-by-step plan breaks your next steps into small steps with an owner where one is recorded, Review lists everything that waits for a person, a short email each Monday sums up your register, and when an amending act touches a provision your records cite, you get an email per affected system. Source.

[25]
Annex IV technical documentation · Complipath

Live. A workspace for the technical documentation, section by section, saying which Annex IV points each one answers. The status table: what Complipath is.

[26]
Annex IV technical documentation · Botminds
“Seven agents classify each system against Article 5, Article 6 and Annex III, write each Annex IV section only from cited passages in your own documents, keep the Article 9 risk file, question the file as an authority would and prepare the declaration and registration record.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[27]
AI-assisted drafting of documents · Complipath

Live. Drafts a documentation section from the facts in your register, and says which limbs it could not answer. The status table: what Complipath is.

[28]
Fundamental rights impact assessment (Article 27) · Complipath

Live. Two features. 'DPIA and FRIA: whether they apply' says for each confirmed system whether a fundamental rights impact assessment is required, likely or not, quoting Article 27(1). 'DPIA and FRIA documents', in the app's words, drafts the FRIA (Article 27(1)) from your register by rules, built on the DPIA, a source on every sentence, for a named person to confirm with a date: included in Growth. The status table: what Complipath is.

[29]
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) · Complipath

Live. For a provider of a high-risk system: drafts of the EU declaration of conformity (Article 47, Annex V), the EU database registration (Article 49, Annex VIII), the post-market monitoring plan (Article 72), risk management (Article 9) from the risk register and the quality management system (Article 17), each point quoted from the law; a person completes and signs them The status table: what Complipath is.

[30]
EU declaration of conformity (Article 47) · Botminds
“Seven agents classify each system against Article 5, Article 6 and Annex III, write each Annex IV section only from cited passages in your own documents, keep the Article 9 risk file, question the file as an authority would and prepare the declaration and registration record.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai. "prepare the declaration"; Article 47 is not named.
[31]
Export (PDF or other formats) · Complipath

Live. The whole register as a spreadsheet, as JSON or as a PDF, with the exact law texts it was assessed against. The status table: what Complipath is.

[32]
Evidence linked to each requirement · Complipath

Live. Upload a file once. We read it and use it everywhere it helps: proof for requirements, text for the documentation, and a flag when it disagrees with an earlier answer. The status table: what Complipath is.

[33]
An audit log or audit trail · Complipath

Live. Shows who did what in the workspace, and when, as a list you can read and export. The status table: what Complipath is.

[34]
An audit log or audit trail · Botminds
“The Botminds audit trail is append-only at the database, sealed entry by entry with a hash chain, and checked on demand by a verify call that names the first entry that does not match.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[35]
Sign-off and approvals · Complipath

Yes. Confirming a classification stamps it with the person who confirmed it and when; a documentation section is marked reviewed by a named person on a date. Source.

[36]
Sign-off and approvals · Botminds
“Owners answer with documents and accept residual risk; the AI compliance lead signs.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[37]
The version of the law each answer used · Complipath

Yes. Each assessment records which version of the legal text it was made against, and which provisions have been amended since. Source.

[38]
Audit-ready reports · Complipath

Live. One file with every classification, citation and confirmation — the one you hand to someone outside your company. The status table: what Complipath is.

[39]
An API · Complipath

Partly. A read-only connector (MCP) lets Claude, ChatGPT or another assistant that speaks MCP read the register, once an admin signs in to allow it or with a token your workspace creates; either can be revoked. There is no API for writing to it. Source.

[40]
Integrations with ML and engineering tools · Complipath

Partly. Read-only connections to GitHub, GitLab, Azure, Datadog, any log system and the Claude or OpenAI API find AI in your code and read AI use from your logs and AI accounts, on Starter and up; there is no connection to ML platforms. Source.

[41]
Integrations with work tools · Complipath

Partly. Claude and ChatGPT can read your register once an admin allows it, and an app list exported from Google Admin or Microsoft Entra can be uploaded. Source.

[42]
Single sign-on · Complipath

Partly. You can sign in with your Google account, and the owner can require a two-step sign-in for everyone; SAML single sign-on is not in the app's list. Source.

[43]
Single sign-on · Botminds
“Secure and governed Single sign-on, encryption, least privilege and a sealed audit trail.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[44]
Import from a spreadsheet · Complipath

Yes. Upload the AI inventory template or your own sheet as an Excel (.xlsx) or CSV file of up to 200 rows, check every row in a preview and send what you import to Review. Risk levels in the file are not imported: the rules classify each system.

[45]
Hosting in the EU · Complipath

Yes. Your workspace is stored in Frankfurt: the database in Supabase's eu-central-1 region and the app's functions in Vercel's fra1 region, read on 8 October 2026. Source.

[46]
Encryption · Complipath

Yes, at our database provider: Supabase's own security page says “All customer data is encrypted at rest with AES-256 and in transit via TLS.” We read it there on 28 October 2026. Source.

[47]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 · Complipath

No. Complipath is not SOC 2 certified and not ISO 27001 certified. Source.

[48]
ISO 27001 or SOC 2 · Botminds
“SOC 2 ISO 27001 GDPR”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai. Footer badges; the security page lists "SOC 2 Type II" and says "The certifications your procurement checklist asks for — audit reports available on request."
[49]
Two-factor sign-in · Complipath

Live. A code from your phone after the email link. The owner can require it for everyone. The status table: what Complipath is.

[50]
Self-hosted or on-premise option · Complipath

No. Complipath runs only as the hosted service.

[51]
Self-hosted or on-premise option · Botminds
“Deployment on your terms. Multi-tenant SaaS, dedicated cloud, or on-premises — the same controls, wherever your policy requires the data to live.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[52]
A public price · Complipath

Starter is €499 a month or €4,990 a year. Prices exclude VAT. Pricing.

[53]
A free tier or free tool · Complipath

Yes. The Free plan covers one AI system and one user, with no end date. The check needs no account. Source.

[54]
A free trial · Complipath

No card. The trial lasts 30 days and gives you Starter, with up to 20 AI systems. After 30 days the workspace is on the free plan, which has one AI system: nothing is deleted and your export keeps working; systems above the free plan's one are paused until you buy a plan or archive others. Pricing.

[55]
What the price is based on · Complipath

Starter includes 20 AI systems. Archived systems don’t count toward your limit. Pricing.

[56]
A plan for small companies · Complipath

Yes. The Free plan covers one AI system and one user, with no end date. You pay for your AI portfolio, not your number of employees. Source.

[57]
Sign-up without talking to sales · Complipath

Yes. The check needs no account, and the trial needs no card. Source.

[58]
A stated time to first result · Complipath

Yes. Your risk classes in about 30 seconds, with no account and no card: in five timed runs of the free check on 30 October 2026 the median until every suggested system had its class was 15.7 seconds. The AI Act Answer Sprint returns the AI Act section within 48 working hours. Source.

[59]
A demo or sales call to start · Complipath

Not required. The check needs no account, and a walkthrough can be booked if you want one. Source.

[60]
A demo or sales call to start · Botminds
“Questions on the platform, security, pricing or anything else — send a note and a human gets back within one business day.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai. /pricing redirects to /contact; navigation reads "Request a demo".
[61]
Onboarding help · Complipath

Book 20 minutes and we set up your first AI systems with you. Pricing.

[62]
Onboarding help · Botminds
“Hypercare puts the team that built your solution on elevated duty: priority response, daily proactive monitoring, standing check-ins, and hands-on help for your users.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 8 November 2026 from botminds.ai.
[63]
Other frameworks (ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF) · Complipath

Live. Under Frameworks, beside the EU AI Act: the GDPR duties each AI system brings, quoted from the regulation, with what Complipath prepares and what stays yours, and how far your AI management is from ISO/IEC 42001, with a draft statement of applicability; readiness only, never a certificate The status table: what Complipath is.

[64]
What they put first · Botminds
“AI vendor risk assessment that checks what the vendor said against what its own documents say, before you sign”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from botminds.ai.
[65]
What they put first · Botminds
“Your people make the decisions. Agents read, check and draft; a qualified person reviews and signs every decision that matters.”Botminds, in their words and not ours. It was read on 9 October 2026 from botminds.ai.

The 14 pages of Botminds's site we read, on 8 November 2026:

Try both on the same system.Complipath's Free plan is for one AI system and one user. Compare the answer you get with Botminds's.

Questions

Is this comparison neutral?

It is written by Complipath, so read it as ours. What keeps it checkable is the rule on both sides: each Botminds cell is their own sentence with the page it stood on, and each Complipath cell is what our own pages say. Where a side's pages say nothing, the cell says so.

What does "Not stated on the pages we read" mean?

That none of the 14 pages of Botminds's site we read on 8 November 2026 said it. It is a statement about those pages, listed below, not about the product: ask Botminds before you rule anything out.

Which should I choose?

Start from the rows you need. Where Botminds's own site states a requirement that Complipath's pages answer no or not yet, Botminds is the closer fit on that row, by what each side says publicly. If you want each classification with its article and the version of the law it used, at a public price, start with Complipath's free check.

Related